Home > News Details print
St. Agnes Hospital earns nursing excellence honor
January 20, 2014

St. Agnes Hospital has become the first healthcare provider in the Fox Valley region, and one of only three in Wisconsin to receive the prestigious Pathway to Excellence® designation by the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC).

Waupun Memorial Hospital, also a member of Agnesian HealthCare, achieved this same designation in early 2013.

The Pathway to Excellence designation identifies the elements of work environments where nurses can flourish. The designation substantiates the professional satisfaction of nurses at St. Agnes Hospital and identifies it as one of the best places to work.

“This designation is an outstanding achievement for St. Agnes Hospital, our nurses and the community as a whole,” says Jill Stenson, St. Agnes Hospital vice president of Nursing. “This honor demonstrates our continued commitment to quality care for our patients, and to our nurses - those individuals dedicated to providing the personal touch to our patients each and every day.”

Georgia Brockway, Peggy McArdle and Dorothy Garcia, have served as co-chairs, leading a dedicated committee of their colleagues: Lauren Batura, Tonya Boone, Kristine Flood, Vicki Goeden Hoch, Jessica Habeck, Ellen Hansfield, Brenda Kissinger, Lisa McGee, Cale Moyle, Elizabeth Pieper, Kim Scharschmidt, Toni Schlieve, Amy Schroeder, Melissa Souders and Marge Whitinger, as well as many other nurses who gave of their time and knowledge.

St. Agnes Hospital started its journey in January 2013 and worked diligently to explore best practices and assess all efforts around providing quality patient care.

“During that time, we evaluated what was working well and where we could continue to enhance patient care,” says according to Brockway. “In all this work, we kept our patients and their families at the center of all we do.”

The Pathway to Excellence designation is granted based on the confirmed presence of characteristics known as “The Pathway to Excellence Criteria.” For an organization to earn the Pathway to Excellence distinction, it must successfully undergo a thorough review process that documents foundational quality initiatives in creating a positive work environment - as defined by nurses and supported by research. These initiatives must be present in the facility’s practices, policies and culture.

Nurses in the organization verify the presence of the criteria in the organization through participation in a completely confidential on-line survey.

“It is very satisfying that as nurses, we are given the opportunity to make changes that helps us to better serve our patients,” Brockway says. “I am proud that we are continually working to provide great patient care and that we work in an environment where our ideas for improvement are supported and nurtured.”

As a Pathway to Excellence® designated organization, St. Agnes Hospital is committed to nurses, to what nurses identify as important to their practice and to valuing nurses’ contributions in the workplace, according to Stenson. “This designation confirms to the public that nurses work at Fond du Lac know their efforts are supported. The honor encourages other nurses to join their colleagues in this desirable and nurturing environment.”

The Pathway to Excellence designation is attainable by all healthcare facilities around the world.

“We are very thankful to our nursing associates that have worked so hard to make this designation possible,” Stenson adds.

Photo caption: Laurie Schraufnagel, a registered nurse at St. Agnes Hospital, is one of many nurses being recognized with a Pathway to Excellence designation.

Web Nursery

Click here to enjoy recent & new beginnings!

Learn More »

Community Calendar

Agnesian HealthCare offers a wide array of community education programs that help to enhance the overall health and well-being of individuals and families within its service area.

Learn More »

Volunteer Opportunities

Do you feel led to donate your time to an amazing cause? See what opportunities are available.

Learn More »