UWO Nightingale Awards celebrate excellence in nursing practice, leadership

Shelly Haberman
Nightingale winners

Two Agnesian HealthCare nurses were recently recognized by the University of Wisconsin Oshkosh College of Nursing and the College of Nursing Board of Visitors at the annual Nightingale Awards ceremony.

Lori Cardinal (seated, middle), St. Agnes Hospital Nursing Resources director, and Shane Garner, Ripon Medical Center nurse anesthetist, were among an elite group of Wisconsin nurses recognized on April 18.

For more than 25 years, UW-Oshkosh has hosted this prestigious event to honor individuals who embody the spirit of Florence Nightingale and demonstrate excellence in nursing practice. Last year, the Board of Visitors introduced the inaugural Nurse Leader Award as a way to recognize nurses who work in mid-management, supervisory roles. The awards consist of a cash prize and an original commemorative keepsake.

Garner (standing, left) was one of six recipients of the 2019 Nightingale Award for Excellence in Nursing Practice recipients.

With 10 years of nursing experience, Garner stays current on best practices not only in anesthesia care but also in surgical patient care and postoperative pain management. Garner is a valuable asset to Ripon Medical Center, and shares his clinical expertise through educational presentations for colleagues, nursing staff, patients, students and community members.

Cardinal is the epitome of a nurse leader serving as director of hospital nursing resources and interim director of the women and infants department at St. Agnes Hospital. With 36 years of nursing experience, she demonstrates a resilient, can-do approach to challenges. Cardinal is an example of “when the going gets tough - the tough get going.”

She is active in the Nursing Leadership Council, Policy and Procedure Committee, Nurse Practice Committee, Safe Lift Committee, Code Heart Committee, Emergency Department Trauma Committee, ST-Elevation Myocardial Infarction (STEMI) Committee and the system-wide Donate Life Committee as chair.

Since the inception of the UW-Oshkosh Nightingale Awards in 1993, 142 Nightingale Award recipients and two Nurse Leader Award recipients have been recognized as outstanding, Wisconsin-based nurses. All past Nightingale nominees and winners are considered part of a close circle of nursing friends and a tight network of high-achieving health care professionals.

“Everyone’s life is touched by a nurse,” according to Shane Carter, vice president of nursing, administration with AdvocateAuroraHealth, and master of ceremonies. “Today, nurses do things that Florence Nightingale might never have imagined, but the legacy of Nightingale binds all nurses with a common thread: dedication and commitment to the patient above all things.”

Ann Sorgent, Agnesian Cancer Center, was also nominated for the 2019 Nurse Leader Award, while Laura Gerhke, Waupun Memorial Hospital, was nominated for the 2019 Nightingale Award for Excellence in Nursing Practice.

Share This On...

Blog category

Subscribe to the Blog

* indicates required